Stick a Needle in Your IOPS

Good Post by vMiss (thank you)

What are IOPS anyway?  Simply put, they are Input/Output Operations Per Second, and they are meaningless.

Wait, what?  How could I possibly be calling IOPS meaningless?  I’m a STORAGE person!  How could I say this? I think that maybe it was one of those metrics that had meaning, at one point.  Maybe.  Now?  Not so much.  Here’s why.

Let’s say I go down to the Storage Depot and I’m looking at all the shiny storage controllers on the shelves.  I point at the prettiest one, and I ask the helpful person with the name tag how many IOPS I can get out of it.

Read on here

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

