VVOLs and VMware

Post by Christine Taylor (thank you)

The definition of VVOLs is simple but the effect is ground-breaking. Here is the simple definition part: Virtual Volumes (VVOL) is an out-of-band communication protocol between array-based storage services and vSphere 6.

And here is the ground-breaking part: VVOLs enables a VM to communicate its data management requirements directly to the storage array. The idea is to automate and optimize storage resources at the VM level instead of placing data services at the LUN (block storage) or the file share (NAS) level.

Read on here

vSphere Virtual Volumes Interoperability: VAAI APIs vs VVOLs

Good post by Rawlinson Rivera (thank you)

In 2011 VMware introduced block based VAAI APIs as part of vSphere 4.1 release. This APIs helped improving performance of VMFS by providing offload of some of the heavy operations to the storage array. In subsequent release, VMware added VAAI APIs for NAS, thin provisioning, and T10 command support for Block VAAI APIs.

Now with Virtual Volumes (VVOLs) VMware is introducing a new virtual machine management and integration framework that exposes virtual disks as the primary unit of data management for storage arrays. This new framework enables array-based operations at the virtual disk level that can be precisely aligned to application boundaries with the capability of providing a policy-based management approach per virtual machine.

Read on here

VSAN Part 10 – Changing VM Storage Policy on-the-fly

Good post by Cormac Hogan (thank you) – you can find Cormac’s other VSAN posts here

This is quite a unique aspect of VSAN, and plays directly into what I believe to be one of the crucial factors of software defined storage. Its probably easier to use an example to explain the concept of how being able to change storage policies on the fly is such a cool feature.

Read on here

Accelerate with ATS Webinar: IBM Storwize V7000 Unified – Let’s Talk Policy

ABSTRACT: In this session we will explore the V7000 Unified policy engine. We will create policies for data placement, migration, and backup. Additionally, we will look at troubleshooting policies should there be difficulties with processing the policy or the subsequent data movement.

DATE: November 13, 2012

TIME:   Noon New York, 5 p.m. London, 6 p.m. Paris, 17:00:00 GMT

DURATION: 1.5 Hours

PRE-REGISTER FOR SESSION: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/742285625

This no-charge webinar is open to IBMers, Business Partners and Customers.