Angular-Multiplexing architecture (Holographic Storage)

A very interesting article from Ken Wood from HDS (thank you) on the topic of Holographic Storage.

recent article by The Register’s Chris Mellor was passed my way by a colleague, at a perfect time. I was planning to post a blog this week on Hitachi’s contribution to the world of optical and holographic storage, but I didn’t know how I was going to introduce the subject.

Chris has just given me the angle I need. I have written a couple of pieces here and there about optical storage and somewhat knocked the holographic commercialization efforts by InPhase, mainly due to the events in February 2010.

kw11d

In these blog posts, I also mentioned some of the R&D breakthroughs Hitachi contributes to the optical storage industry and the advancement of Blu-rayTM technology through Hitachi’s HLDS division. However, through Hitachi’s Central and Yokohama Research Labs, Hitachi is a major contributor to the advancement of holographic storage – true holographic storage.

What I mean by “true” holographic storage (versus the implied “not true” holographic storage) is the method of how a unit of information is actually recorded and read from the media. In the true holographic storage architecture, the smallest unit imprinted on the media is a page (essentially, a hologram). Today that page is approximately 1 mega-pixel in size and is used in Hitachi’s Angular-Multiplexing architecture, whereas the Micro-Holographic architecture used in GE’s approach is still based on a bitwise recording method. Translation: one unit of data written or read with the Angular-Multiplexing architecture results in a 1 megapixel transfer, whereas in the Micro-Holographic architecture the smallest unit written or read is still a bit. Read on here

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I did a similar post a while ago to try to convince people to look at optical storage. Yes, I also work for HDS.

    Posts are http://massstorage.blogspot.com/2011/04/end-of-spinning-disks.html and http://massstorage.blogspot.com/2011/04/end-of-spinning-disks-part-2.html

    Reply

Leave a comment