M-A-M™: Understanding Presentation Media

Great post from J Metz (thank you) on Presentation techniques. Must read for all presenters and audiences that suffer from the Death-by-Powerpoint syndrome (see the hilarious video below)

Recently I went to a technical conference and, as was to be expected, found myself subjected to the classic “Death By Powerpoint.” I found myself getting frustrated and insulted by the lack of respect the presenters – and by extension, their presentations – showed their audience. There are a lot of places on the Intarwebs that can give you directions on how to create presentations, but there aren’t a lot that will explain why it works the way it does. Allow me to provide a brief insight as to some of those “whys.”

Readers of this blog will know that I’ve long been a proponent of medium theorists such as Marshall McLuhan and Harold Adams Innis. I have long been involved in media ecology and before I left academia was a devoted researcher in that area. Recent inductees to Neil Postman’s work might find some of these earlier academics fascinating as well.

.

The medium shapes the nature of your communication content

.

By the way, I highly recommend The Medium Is The Massage as a great introductory start for blowing your mind about the form and function of media, for instance. In fact, it was Marshall McLuhan who coined the term “The Media” in the first place.

The key element is that media shape the nature of the content conveyed. This is a critical point for our purpose here. Read on here

Leave a comment

Leave a comment